VVyaya

HSBC Premier Credit Card Review

Travel card

The HSBC Premier has a ₹12,000 joining fee and ₹20,000 annual fee + GST. It earns 3% back on regular spends and up to 36% on HSBC Travel with Points, with complimentary airport lounge access. Best for: hsbc premier clients who travel internationally — our verdict: recommended.

Vyaya Team · Aug 2026
5 min read
Apply Now →

We may earn a commission if you apply through this link. It never affects our ratings.

Value Score
9.6 / 10
Annual Fee
₹20,000
Best For
HSBC Premier banking client, International high-spender
Network
Mastercard
Expert Verdict

An ultra-premium card for HSBC Premier clients offering uncapped 12X travel earning, ₹1-value points, unlimited global lounges and a market-leading 0.99% forex markup. The ₹20,000 fee with no waiver and ₹36 Lakh income bar restrict it to high-income international spenders.

Premier Credit Card credit card by HSBC - Mastercard network
REWARD SUMMARY
3% Base Rewards
Travel card
← Tap to flip back

The Bottom Line

The Premier Credit Card is built for hsbc premier banking client and international high-spender. With a ₹20,000 annual fee, it offers 36% rewards on hsbc travel with points (travel) and 20,000 bonus points. It makes the most sense if your spending matches hsbc premier banking client and international high-spender.

It earns a base reward rate of 3% and stacks best when your spending lines up with HSBC Premier banking client, International high-spender.

What we like
+Reward Points are worth a full ₹1 each, with a solid base 3% (3 per ₹100) and up to 12X (36 per ₹100) on travel via the HSBC Travel with Points portal, all uncapped.
+6X (18 per ₹100) on Apple purchases through the HSBC Unicorn portal, also uncapped.
+Unlimited domestic and international lounge access via Priority Pass plus 8 international guest visits per year.
+Industry-low 0.99% forex markup, ideal for heavy international spenders.
+Fuel surcharge waiver on ₹400–₹4,000 transactions.
What we don't
–Very high ₹20,000 annual fee (₹12,000 joining) with no spend-based waiver path.
–Requires an extremely high ₹36 Lakh minimum income, restricting it to HSBC Premier banking customers.
–No spend milestones or bonus points beyond the portal accelerators.
–1% surcharge applies to rent payments and cash advances earn nothing.

Who Should Get This Card

Use this as a quick filter before comparing rewards or fees in detail.

Best fit for

Ideal
+
HSBC Premier banking client

Existing Premier relationship holders earning ₹36 Lakh+ who will use unlimited global lounges and the 0.99% forex markup.

+
International high-spender

Frequent overseas spenders for whom the 0.99% forex markup and uncapped 12X travel earning offset the ₹20,000 fee.

Probably not for

Skip
–
Fee-sensitive user

The ₹20,000 annual fee with no waiver path makes it uneconomical for anyone not maximizing the premium perks.

–
Mid-income applicant

The ₹36 Lakh income bar puts the card out of reach for most applicants.

Is It Worth It For You?

Slide to your typical monthly card spend. We'll do the rest.

Calculate Your Value

Adjust your typical monthly spend by category.

Dining
0₹5,000Max ₹50k
Est. Returns
Travel
0₹10,000Max ₹1L
Est. Returns
Online & Shopping
0₹8,000Max ₹80k
Est. Returns
Groceries
0₹6,000Max ₹40k
Est. Returns
Annual rewards₹0
Welcome bonus (Year 1)+₹20,000
Annual fee-₹20,000
Net Value (Year 1)+₹0
Net Value (Year 2+)₹-20,000

Sign in for personalized estimates based on your actual spending

Reward Rates

Premier Credit Card offers 3% basic reward rate.

Quick Calculator

Estimate earnings for a specific purchase

₹
HSBC Travel with Points (Travel)
36%
HSBC Unicorn (Shopping)
18%

Welcome Offer

20,000 Reward Points

20,000 Reward Points (worth ~Rs. 20,000 at the Rs. 1/point base value) credited on starting to use (first transaction with) the HSBC Premier Credit Card; the official page does not state a minimum spend threshold or specific time window beyond first card usage. cardexpert.in separately/historically cites a Rs. 12,000 Taj Hotels gift voucher as a joining welcome benefit, which is not confirmed on HSBC's current official page and may reflect an older or since-discontinued promotion (recorded as a conflict).

Value: ₹20,000

Fees & Charges

Joining fee₹12,000
Annual fee₹20,000
Fee waiverN/A

Eligibility

  • Min Income: ₹36 Lakhs
  • Must be HSBC Premier customer: TRB Rs 50L or net monthly salary Rs 3L or mortgage Rs 1.15Cr; annual fee waived for Premier customers.

Exclusions & Terms

Forex markup

  • Foreign currency markup

Money Transfers & Tax Payments

  • Shares the same combined Rs. 1,00,000/month reward-earning cap as Utility/Insurance/Government spends; effective 1 April 2025 per third-party reporting.

Jewelry, Real Estate Agent & Financial-Institution Payments

  • Shares the same combined Rs. 1,00,000/month reward-earning cap; effective 1 April 2025 per third-party reporting.

Cash Advances

  • Cash advances do not earn Reward Points and attract a 2.5% transaction fee (min Rs. 300) plus finance charges from the date of withdrawal.

EMI Transactions

  • Reward Points are not applicable on Instant EMI (IEMI) conversion transactions, per the official rewards page.

Frequently Asked Questions

7 data-backed answers from our card database

What is the annual fee of the HSBC Premier credit card?+

The HSBC Premier has a ₹12,000 joining fee and ₹20,000 annual fee + GST.

What rewards does the HSBC Premier credit card give?+

It earns 3 Reward Points per ₹100 spent (about 3% back), and up to 36% on HSBC Travel with Points.

Does the HSBC Premier credit card offer airport lounge access?+

Yes — complimentary airport lounge access. Check the card's terms for any spend condition before your trip.

What is the eligibility for the HSBC Premier credit card?+

Minimum annual income of about ₹36 lakh. Must be HSBC Premier customer: TRB Rs 50L or net monthly salary Rs 3L or mortgage Rs 1.15Cr; annual fee waived for Premier customers.

What is the forex markup on the HSBC Premier?+

3.5% + GST on international transactions.

What is the welcome benefit on the HSBC Premier?+

20,000 Reward Points (worth ~Rs. 20,000 at the Rs. 1/point base value) credited on starting to use (first transaction with) the HSBC Premier Credit Card; the official page does not state a minimum spend threshold or specific time window beyond first card usage. cardexpert.in separately/historically cites a Rs. 12,000 Taj Hotels gift voucher as a joining welcome benefit, which is not confirmed on HSBC's current official page and may reflect an older or since-discontinued promotion (recorded as a conflict).

Is the HSBC Premier credit card worth it?+

The HSBC Premier has a ₹12,000 joining fee and ₹20,000 annual fee + GST. It earns 3% back on regular spends and up to 36% on HSBC Travel with Points, with complimentary airport lounge access. Best for: hsbc premier clients who travel internationally — our verdict: recommended.

Ready to apply?

₹20,000 annual fee. Apply on the HSBC website.

Apply on HSBC →

We may earn a commission if you apply through this link. It never affects our ratings.

Explore more on Vyaya